A Year After Film School

I have officially been out of film school for a year. (Well, a year and a month and a couple days. Who’s counting?) The burning question all my blog readers most certainly have is this: What have I done since I graduated from VFS last August?

After moving back to Wisconsin and doing…mostly nothing for a few months, I started writing current event articles for Geek Happy Network, teaching yoga at Prairie Fire Yoga, and working part-time as a manager at Teavana. It’s a packed schedule, but I dig it.

I found time to work on several film projects over the last few months. In April, I helped out as an assistant director on a local music video produced by Project Famous Films. In early August, I was a first camera assistant for a locally well-known web-series entitled The Ethical Slut. At the end of August, I co-wrote a short film for Madison’s 48-hour film project. Unfortunately, I was only able to be there for the writing and not for the filming due to my work schedule, but I had a lot of fun working with my co-writer, Max, and I think my team made a fun film, which you can watch by clicking here.

My short film, Smile, Baby got accepted into the Minneapolis Underground Film Festival and will screen on Thursday, October 8th at the St. Anthony Main Theatre! I am going to Minneapolis to see its world premiere and I am so excited! I have submitted the film to six other festivals and I look forward to showing it at many more.

Writing wise, I have not been as busy as I’d like to be, but I still have several projects that I am working on. I have a short film that I am working toward getting produced within the next few months. More on that later! I also have some feature films in the works. My biggest struggle is creating a writing regime for myself. I really need to start writing more often and not making excuses to not write, which is incredibly easy to do.

But those excuses end with this blog post. No more excuses. It’s time for me to eliminate distractions, put in the time, and let the words flow. It is time to write. Now and always.

Leave a Reply

