2014

Ah, the obligatory “looking back on the past year” post. On December 31, of all days.

In all seriousness, 2014 was an amazing year.

I spent most of the year at VFS, writing all kinds of projects. I saw my writing produced on two occasions–two episodes of a web series that I co-wrote with Dan Christensen came to life through the Film Production program, and I directed my short script “Smile, Baby.” And, in case you missed it in the last sentence, I directed for the first time! I also learned to produce through a new part of the VFS writing program, and with my team–Connor, Sarah-Jane, Michael, and Sasha–brought Sarah-Jane’s script Infect Me Not to life.

2014 was the year I got an IMDb profile.

I solidified a number of great friendships with my classmates in 2014. I met and worked with some very talented people.

This year, I wrote more than I’ve ever written before. I made my first film, and I helped to make several others. I submitted my feature screenplay and had at least one producer read it. He decided not to option it, but said it was “well-crafted.” I’ll take that!

2014 was the year I graduated from film school.

I gained confidence through these experiences. I know I can write a feature screenplay and finish it in a timely manner. I know all the work that goes into making a short film. I know that I can network and be smooth when I need to be. I have faith that my ideas are good. I know that I will write and make films wherever I go.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

